Are blackouts a big deal to you?

Here is an excerpt from GoVolsXtra.com. I find it concerning, because in this case I would never believe a word coming from the player, a coach, etc.

*****

Tennessee sophomore cornerback Cameron Sutton came off the field and had to sit out a series during Saturday’s game against Missouri on Saturday night. Sutton made a somewhat startling revelation as to why during Monday’s media availability.

“I just blacked out,” Sutton said. “It happens from time to time. … This is the first time it’s ever happened in a game. They ran a couple of things on the sideline just to make sure I was OK, and I just got back out there.”

A Tennessee spokesperson said that Sutton would not have been allowed to return to the field if he were showing concussion symptoms, but did not provide any further comment Monday.

Sutton said he’s had the blackouts for some time, but wasn’t specific. They usually occur elsewhere other than the football field.

“It just happens throughout the course of the day,” Sutton said. “I might black out. I just keep walking and nothing ever happens. It’s the first time it’s ever happened in a game. But you know, I can’t let that stop me from going back out there and finishing the rest of the game. … It just happens from time to time. It doesn’t happen every day. For the two seconds it does happen, I just black out, come back, keep going about my business.”

Sutton said he doesn’t think it’s a big deal and said he doesn’t know why it happens.

“It’s not a problem at all,” Sutton said. “It just happens. I don’t think it’s an issue or anything like that. Nothing to be looked into or made a big deal out of .”

2 responses to “Are blackouts a big deal to you?”

  1. rockytop78 says :

    UT needs to have Cam Sutton submit to a CAT scan and/or MRI, or other neurologic testing, and to do it ASAP. If there are valid concerns about some sort of structural neurologic damage (or the potential for such), then Butch Jones needs to sit Cam Sutton down and tell him that his playing days at UT are over.

  2. TK says :

    Blackouts are of no concern to me. If the game is not a sellout and a blackout goes into effect, then I am close enough to Knoxville to jump in the car and attend the game in person. However I can understand why this is frustrating to some fans. DESTROY VANDY!

