Are you as excited about the Vols in 2014 as you were for any of the previous five seasons?

At the urging of my old friend TK, Vols in the Fall is back up and running for the 2014 season. But it will be different than the previous version, which was a detailed chronicle and commentary of Tennessee Vols football during the single-season experiment of Lane Kiffin, and the failed three-year reign of Derek Dooley.

How different?

Each post will prompt a discussion, not present an expose of a game or a player or a coach. It will ask a question.

So this first post for the new season, as will be all future posts, is titled by a question.

The present question comes from my own ambivilance regarding the coming season (and a growing indifference for the game of football in general). This ambivalence is born from simply being burned out from writing nearly every day on the Vols for four years — four years that brought over-hyped expectation and gross underachievement: basically a slow destruction of a once-relevant program. Butch Jones was brought in to right a sinking ship (or exume an already sunken ship depending on your personal view). Although I believe Mr. Jones has begun to turn the direction toward redemption and W/L success, I believe that, great recruiting classes notwithstanding, it will take several seasons before Tennessee wins the SEC once again. The sustained strength of our conference over many years, a trend that is not going to change in the foreseeable future, has a lot to do with this protracted projection.

So back to the question…

My answer is an uneqivocal NO. But that could change at the drop of a hat (or a couple of big wins). And, my view shouldn’t change or influence your view. We all move from one phase of our life to the next, and do so sometimes out of sync with others. So, what do you have to say? Are you as excited about the Vols in 2014 as you were for any of the previous five seasons?

What say YOU?

12 responses to “Are you as excited about the Vols in 2014 as you were for any of the previous five seasons?”

  1. Rick says :

    I am excited but realistic. Good times will return but not anytime soon.

    • Fred says :

      Good to hear from you again.

      I am looking forward to watching the game Sunday night, and glad we are playing an opponent that isn’t in the “cupcake” class but also not of the other extreme.

  2. Jan Evett says :

    Okay, guys! I am excited!! I am almost as excited about seeing this blog resurrected as I am about the 2014 season! I have to say that I was sad last season to not see Vols in the Fall in my inbox. The good news is I’m still alive! So, there is hope for everything including a winning season. I understand the logic and realistic expectations, but I am hopeful that the Vols will surprise everyone and exceed expectations. Go Vols!

  3. Bryant Denny says :

    Glad to see your blog back up and running.

    I’m not a Tennessee fan, but I see progress. Jones is a solid coach, he’s just short on talent right now. It also doesn’t help having OU on the schedule.

    I think the key games are Florida and Ole Miss. Beat both and it’ll be a pretty good step forward. Split those and the step forward won’t be quite as big.

    Anyways, y’all have a good day,

    BD

  4. TK says :

    Its football time in Tennessee………..or at least thats the way the saying goes. I really feel this is going to be a rough year. The Vol Nation needs patience this year plain and simple. Lets see what the fan base can do. No Im not as excited as usual but thats what losing does to you. Hopefully that can soon be corrected. Weve got lots to replace. Our main replacement may be for Bobby Denton. I for one will greatly miss him. And now i hear we are going to get piped in music for Neyland. Im holding my breath on that move. I wont walk out when it starts against Utah State. ………but i may not walk back in if doesnt seem right for this venue.

    • Fred says :

      I don’t like the sound of the piped in music idea. I don’t go to NBA games anymore because of that very thing – too noisy for the sake of noise.

  5. Brscoggins says :

    Glad u are back in the fold

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  6. rockytop78 says :

    FRED!!

    Welcome back, we have all missed you!

    My short answer to your question is, No.

    The longer answer is, No, because I am just emotionally exhausted from travelling to the highs and then down to the lows over the past 5 years; and, just when you thought it couldn’t get any worse, going even lower still (i.e., Kentucky 10, Tennessee 7). After last year’s end-of-the-season debacle in our own house (Vandy 14, Tennessee 10), all I could think about for the 2014 season was going on a nice, long beach vacation from late August through November where there was no internet, television, radio, or newspapers; and where I could just sit in a beach chair beneath a palm tree with a beer and a good book, and watch the waves lapping the shore . . . . But, alas, reality (or more properly, the mortgage payments) precluded that little fantasy.

    So here I am, an aging, cock-eyed optimist about the Orange and White; and if I can’t quite muster the enthusiasm that I used to on my own, I still find myself getting vicariously excited through my kids.

    And now it’s that time of year when, once again, I hear those magic words, “IT’S FOOTBALL TIME IN TENNESSEE,” and the blood starts coursing through my veins, the chills run down my back, the hairs stand up on my neck, and I’m ready to talk smack to the nearest Alabama fan that I can find. (Sadly, there seem to be a lot more of them here in Knoxvegas than there used to be.)

    Let’s hope for a better season, and better times, for the Big Orange and the Vol Nation.

