The Obligatory O+W Post

God, that was boring. You know the sayings about grass growing and paint drying. Well, this was perhaps worse, sort of like watching a two-hour Lunesta commerical.

I commit heresy a lot in my life, basically because I have a gummy contrarian streak that is as wide as the left lane on southbound I-81. So be it. But I don’t use that as my raison d’être. I’m actually a pretty affable guy.

And a reasonable one.

But…

Awww...

Spring is the time to smell the new grown grass that’s been asleep for months. Spring is for getting out in the sunshine, and walking through fields of wildflowers with your dog, or loved-one (use interchangeably as appropriate for your particular circumstances) – my dog and loved one left the house at 7am this morning for a dog agility trial in the Central Valley, leaving me to my own sorry devices.

Spring is the time when, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt (thank you Margaret Atwood).

Spring is also for baseball that’s just getting into the bloodstream (there must be something in the Cleveland water supply), for the NHL and NBA playoffs that are really the regular season for those two sports (look out for the Habs), for the English Premier League that brings ultimate victory and relegation death on the doorstep of several clubs, making each and every match life and death (the despicable Red Devils got theirs handed to them on a plate this morning by their noisy neighbors).

Spring is not for college football. And, I’m not apologizing for that statement either, except of course to myself, because for a couple of hours or so, I watched the Orange and White game on my laptop instead of doing something to make myself smell like dirt.

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. That game was slow, pedestrian, rather unimaginative football is what it was.

I have often thought to myself that this tradition is quite useless as any kind of barometer for things to come, which is really the only thing I’m interested in. Fact is, we won’t know a damned thing until Montana comes to Knoxville in early September to investigate the phenomenon known as humidity, unknown to them. And on second thought, because the Grizzlies are a Div II school, we won’t know anything until it’s almost too late – against Cincinnati the following week. And on third thought, because the Bearcats are not an SEC school, we really won’t know anything worth knowing until Dooley makes his first visit as a head coach to Gainesville.

In the meantime…

An altered look about the hills;
A Tyrian light the village fills;
A wider sunrise in the dawn;
A deeper twilight on the lawn;
A print of a vermilion foot;
A purple finger on the slope;
A flippant fly upon the pane;
A spider at his trade again;
An added strut in chanticleer;
A flower expected everywhere…

–  Emily Dickinson

Tags: ,

3 responses to “The Obligatory O+W Post”

  1. Jan Evett says :

    Oh. No. I knew we were in trouble when I read “Obligatory” in the headline. And even worse, I hear they are having a wild “A-Day” celebration in Tuscaloosa tonight. Wonder what’s going on in the Swamp.

  2. tk says :

    damn fred…….you have gone to california and come up with a new vocabulary………read back and look at all those words you have used that us east tennessee country boys have to get the websters out to see what you are saying!!!!!!!!!!!!!! cant you just say…….”this dang game aint worth a shit…….it dont tell us nothing about our team and we wont know nothing bout them until we get our ass whupped on a few times”

  3. rockytop78 says :

    Although the forthcoming trip to The Swamp this Fall may not be as bad as many think; from what I’ve been reading, QB Brantley is having problems, and two WRs just left the team. So we may be closer in talent and coaching to the Gators this September than we now think.

    Or I may be overly optimistic. But as Browning might say:

    “Ah, but a man’s reach
    Should exceed his grasp
    Or what’s a heaven for?”

