Will the Age of Airquarius End on Saturday?

Only time will tell of course.

If you look at the chart below, the shift of Heisman Trophy winners from primarily running backs to quarterbacks didn’t begin in 2000 with Chris Weinke (Florida QB). Arguably it began with Doug Flutie (Boston College, 1984) who broke the string of 12 consecutive running back winners. Beginning with the diminutive QB from BC, the winner of the Heisman has been a QB 15 times in the last quarter century. And, of course, 8 of the last 9 winners have been QBs.

We truly have been living in the Age of the Quarterback.

If a running back wins on Saturday, perhaps it will only be a Reggie Bush Bump on Quarterback Road (a.k.a. 2005).

“QB” = quarterback. “RB” = running back and includs halfbacks and fullbacks. “WR” = wide receiver and includes ends. Def = defensive player. Charles Woodson (Michigan, 1997) was the only winner as a primarily defensive player (cornerback). He also returned punts and occasionally played as a wide receiver. [NOTE: his dot on the chart above is colored orange for reasons known to Vol fans.] Les Horvath (Ohio State, winner 1944) is included above as QB – he also played HB. Vic Janowicz (Ohio State, winner, 1950) is included above as RB – he also was a kicker. Ernie Davis (Syracuse, winner 1961) is included above as RB – he also was a linebacker.


Tags: , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: