The Real Problem

An official report today indicates that an X-ray revealed a broken thumb on Tennessee QB Tyler Bray’s right (throwing) hand. The results of an MRI are not in yet, but the estimated recovery time for Bray’s injury is six weeks.

Bray could miss the remainder of the Vol season.

Here’s a conversation from one of the deep, dark recesses of my mind…

“What’cha doin’?”

“Oh, just looking around.”

“Lookin’ around for what?”

“It’s hard to explain.”

“I got nothin’ else better to do.”

“Well, I’m looking for something to hang on to.”

“Why?”

“Because everything feels like it’s not solid, not permanent, not continuous, not defined.”

“That’s your problem.”

“Say that again?”

Tennessee Volunteers' backup QB Matt Simms gets his shot at making his days as a Vol worthwhile. Photo by Michael Patrick courtesy of GoVolsXtra.com

“That’s your problem. You’re looking for things that don’t exist. Well, actually, they do exist, but only for a little while. Never long enough. It goes away.”

“That doesn’t help. That doesn’t give me something to hang on to.”

“Oh, I see. You’re one of those that believes everything happens according to some kind of plan. Like the Vols are supposed to get better this year, then by, oh, say 2013, they will be challenging for the SEC championship, and perhaps the National Championship.”

“Well, that’s what they say will happen.”

“Who’s ‘they’?”

“Pretty much everybody I’ve heard talk about the Vols since coach Dooley got here.”

“Let me ask you a question. What would happen if Tyler Bray were to break his thumb and miss the rest of the season? What would happen if that caused an epidemic lack of confidence? A lack of confidence to the extent that a significant number of players lost hope and questioned themselves about the choice they made when recruited? What would you think then?”

“That would be a real problem. A real big problem.”

Tags: ,

2 responses to “The Real Problem”

  1. JanEvett (@JanEvett) says :

    How much whining do you think the Gators did last week when they lost Brantley? I hope the Vol Nation doesn’t whine as long as they did/still are doing. I’d hate to see us whine like Tebow. And I like Tebow as a person, don’t get me wrong, but you’ve got to admit the whining is annoying to the rest of the SEC. I’m sorry that happened to Brantley and even more sorry that this happened to Bray. I really hate it! It’s going to be a long rest of the season for sure. I do hope that Simms is up to the challenge and gets the chance to show what he’s got (and I hope it’s the stuff legends are made of). We knew it was going to be a tough year, but we just didn’t know how tough. Either way it goes, we’re still The Big Orange – Go Vols!

    • norcalvol says :

      Thanks, Jan.
      I agree with your sentiment. Whining will get us nowhere, and no one likes whining.
      The whining will likely come from those suffering from irrational expectations.
      I don’t think the loss of Bray will affect the end-of-season W-L total. We are 3-2 with Bray, and would have been 3-2 with Simms. We will likely be 6-6 at the end of the season, we would likely have been 6-6 with Bray the whole way, and we would likely have been 6-6 with Simms the whole way.
      Why?
      The disparity of the opponents in the W column vs the opponents in the L column.
      A huge difference.
      I hope you can make it through another season in Gatorland!!!

